Red Gate Rant

God dammit Red Gate!! Why would I invest in a database comparison tool when a) it takes over 45 minutes of my time to do the comparison and b) by the time it finishes it has generated NullReferenceExceptions and won’t execute. I am not pleased. (folds arms)

And no I won’t apologize for publicly ranting about it either.

Sigh. I guess it’s back to my old dependency analysis code to generate what I need. I am very very sick of this state of affairs with regards to developing database code. MS won’t build in what we need into SSMS, the dependency tracker is buggy, and the expensive third party tools are expensive and slow. The whole thing has been annoying me for a long time, and there seems to be no sign of change at this stage.

If you want something done right, do it yourself, I guess…

Anyway.

Back to work.

 

 

 


About this entry